Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

If mass becomes inifinite when approaching the speed of light, then photons?

1. Jul 5, 2010 #1
    Alright, hi. I've posted one or two things on here, and have been thoroughly informed how incredibly stupid and unprepared I am to even type in the same domain as people with IQs that mine would factor into. Okay, so I read Hyperspace and am reading the Elegant Universe. I'm a dumb high school student who thinks physics is cool. I'll try to make this brief.
    I was trying to explain to friend of mine that {I had been informed that} you cannot go faster than the speed of light because as you APPROACH the speed of light, mass becomes infinite, and that travelling AT the speed of light, mass IS infinite. Then he proposed, well, doesn't light go at the speed of light? Which seemed like a dumb question until I thought about it, and realized, well, how is it that the mass of photons does not become infinite, and how does even a PHOTON travel at the speed of light? I know it has wave-like properties and all, but... how does even LIGHT travel at the speed of light?
    Responses with minimal mocking appreciated, written, of course, in the most dumbed down way possible, for my teeny tiny brain.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 6, 2010 #2
    Photons are massless. Be careful when an argument involves limits as something tends to the speed of light.
  4. Jul 6, 2010 #3