1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Im an Electric Engineer student, should i start learning latex?

1. Aug 16, 2010 #1
    Im an Electric Engineer student, should i start learning latex??

Im an Electric Engineer student, should i start learning latex??
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 16, 2010 #2
    Re: Latex?

If you want to publish articles or make really nice papers of any kind, then yes, absolutely.
  4. Aug 16, 2010 #3

How hard/easy is to learn it?
  5. Aug 16, 2010 #4

You can find plenty of 'introduction to LaTeX' documents online. You'll need to run it somehow; if you have a Linux operating system it's probably already installed, if you have a Mac, download TeXShop, and if you're running Windows, try MikTex. It can have a steep learning curve for many people, and continue to frustrate long after, but does produce nice results, and most of my students picked it up fairly quickly.
  6. Aug 16, 2010 #5

eri ^ has a good response also.
    If you have any programming experience then it'll be a breeze. Otherwise, its a steep but brief learning curve; with LOTS of tutorials and help out there (not to mention templates).

I'd recommend: the next time you have a paper or homework set or something, just type it up in latex; I think that's the easiest way to learn--pick up the pieces that you need to use at any given time.

Good luck!
  7. Aug 16, 2010 #6

It's really not that hard to learn. And the end result is so worth it, if you're a aesthetic freak like I am :). Regardless, it's pretty much essential if you end up publishing or communicating using lots of math.
  8. Aug 16, 2010 #7