Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I'm gonna make $100,000 for doing nothing

1. Jun 25, 2006 #1
    I'm gonna make $100,000 for doing nothing!!

so i just got offered a job at my company where i have been an intern at for the past 2 years. with the offer comes 3500 shares of company stock. right now the stock is at $20 a share, however, when the FDA approves our drug in November (we are 95% sure it will get through), our stock is projected to go up to $60. I got in at just the right time. Oh man i am going to be the only 23 year old that I know that has a new house completely paid off--with cash!!!:biggrin: :biggrin:

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 25, 2006 #2
    wow that's alot.

Stock is dangeous but someitmes starnge.
    Me and my great grandfather invested in a company that went out bussiness the next month. A year later My great grandfather told me it went it up. He said when it hits a 1$(or maybe $5) he's going to give 5,000

4. Jun 25, 2006 #3

-Job-

Science Advisor

I'm sure you've earned that money one way or another, or so i'd like to think. Some suffering in the past perhaps, there must be something.

5. Jun 25, 2006 #4

Evo

Staff: Mentor

Are these actually shares of stock, or stock options, which you have a guaranteed price to buy, but you have to wait (usually 5 years) for them to vest?

I was going to be able to put the evo child through school too, with 27,000 stock options AT&T gave me, then the stock dropped and I could never excersize the options.

6. Jun 25, 2006 #5
    [whisper] be irresponsible and buy a ferrari [/whisper]

7. Jun 25, 2006 #6
    my grandma got into stock market about 10 years ago, hoping to become a millionaire, today, from whole 5000, she's got 2500 still with chances to be as rich as Billo Gates.

8. Jun 25, 2006 #7

it is stock

9. Jun 25, 2006 #8

Evo

Then cash it in the minute it hits the rate you're expecting.