• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

Studying I'm interested in physics, what should I learn?

Let me Introduced myself at first,
I'm a high school student in Hong Kong. I've finished all I need to learn in high school.
Also, I have lots of time to read books.
My school teacher distributes me an empty classroom so that I can do my things there when I come to school.

I'm interested in physics, but I don't really know about physics.
For math, I know some calculus and linear algebra.
And I'm reading Classical Mechanics, Goldstein.
I've finished chapter1-6 and I did every exercise on it, also understanding each solution.
I don't know if I'm doing the right thing.
I want some guidance to help me start learning undergraduate physics.

It looks like you're already making a very good start. I'm sure you'll get some further answers from some of the other members here. Welcome aboard the Physics Forums.

PhanthomJay

Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Gold Member
Yow, you are way ahead in your studies, good work!
You say you don’t know Physics, but a good understanding of Mechanics requires an in depth knowledge of Physics. Goldstein’s book in fact is an advanced version of Mechanics for undergrads.
At a University for Physics or Engineering, you start off taking calculus based or algebra based introductory Physics (take the calc based version) studying forces, motion, energy, etc., including basic Mechanics, then proceed to electricity, magnetism , waves optics, and modern physics if you so choose. Mechanics (statics and dynamics) usually isn’t taken until your 2nd year. Stuff like Lagrangian and Hamiltonian is rather advanced. I don’t know how you are getting a good understanding of Mechanics without first studying basic Physics and Calculus!
You might want to consider Engineering study instead of Physics, unless you are really into the advanced topics of Physics like Quantum Mechanics, Astrophysics, Cosmology, Nuclear, etc.