Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I'm new and i need some guidance befor i get banned

1. Jan 27, 2013 #1
    I have a homework from my degree course
    But i have absolutely no idea how to attempt it
    So how do i ask for guidance without being banned?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 27, 2013 #2

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Use the HW/Coursework forum and follow the rules as stated in that forum. It is not that difficult!

Zz.

4. Jan 27, 2013 #3

drizzle

Gold Member

This, and tell us your favorite fish. :biggrin:

Welcome to the forums, lioric. :)

5. Jan 27, 2013 #4

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Except if he really has no idea of how to start, it's kind of difficult to show his work so far, as we require.

6. Jan 27, 2013 #5

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Check the FAQ: https://www.physicsforums.com/showpost.php?p=4021232&postcount=4

Try to make a drawing! Or try to figure out which concepts/chapters are confusing you. Or look at previous problems. There must be something you can write!!

I do agree that sometimes problems can be very difficult. I was once asked as homework to prove that the reals are uncountable. I had no idea what to do or what to apply. I don't know how they would expect us to come up with Cantor's proof. But there is still always something you can write down as an attempt, even if it's minimal.

7. Jan 27, 2013 #6
    Thank you very much
    I'll try to come up with some thing and get back

8. Jan 27, 2013 #7

Evo

Staff: Mentor

Lioric, just follow the template that pops up when you start a homework problem.

9. Jan 27, 2013 #8
    BTW: I'm lioric and i am new to my first degree class
    I'm training to be a teacher in physics and chemistry