1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I'm not sure if my geometry proof of Hypotenuse/Leg congruence is correct

1. Aug 31, 2011 #1
    I'm obviously not allowed to use Angle-Side-Side or the Pythagorean Theorem. I can only use Euclid's 5 postulates and the theorems that follow(Or the equivalent SMSG postulates and theorems, Hilbert postulates, etc.).

I think my usage of correct vocabulary is wrong, or maybe my whole proof is.

1. The Problem: If the hypotenuse and leg of one right triangle are congruent, respectively, to the hypotenuse and leg of another, then the two triangles are congruent.

3. The attempt at a solution

geoproof1.jpg

geoproof2.jpg

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 1, 2011 #2

LCKurtz

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I'm no expert on what you can and can't do with Euclid axioms, but I think "moving" the triangle so the edges abut like that is a bit iffy. But I think your proof can be made rigorous like this. In your original picture, at P construct angle QPC' equal to angle BAC and swing a compass arc from PR to PC' to make the lengths equal. Now your triangle QPC' is congruent to your original BAC by side-angle-side. Then you are home free, I think.

4. Sep 1, 2011 #3

mathwonk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

i think you are fine. It just depends on what you take for granted. euclid himself moved triangles in his proof of SAS congruence. Then one gets also SSS congruence using moving, and then one can copy triangles by copying their sides, hence can construct angles. later hilbert suggested giving yourself instead SAS and the ability to construct or copy angles.