Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Information for the uninformed

1. Feb 26, 2008 #1
    I am in college and have no formal training in physics, but i really enjoy the field. I was reading about redshift and am currently stumped in regards to its relation to light. I have read that light is constant, but in redshift the wavelengths of the light lengthen. I was wondering if light is constant shouldn't the wavelengths remain the same length when traveling through space? Or do the different wavelengths of light still travel at the same speed? Again i am a layman so please help to shed some light on this topic. i would greatly appreciate it.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 26, 2008 #2

cristo

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I'll try and have a go at answering your question, but feel free to jump in if I've not answered the correct question! Perhaps you recall from some introductory physics course (if you've taken one) that the wavelength, velocity and frequency of light are related by c=fl, where f is the frequency, l is the wavelength and c is the speed of light. Thus, when we talk about light being red-shifted, its wavelength increases, but its frequency decreases, thus leaving c constant.

4. Feb 26, 2008 #3

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Only the speed of light is constant.

But its energy can change.

And energy is dictated by wavelength (=1/frequency).

So different photons of light can have different wavelengths, but they do all travel at the same speed! :smile:

5. Feb 26, 2008 #4
    If l/c =T, in what frame does "T" apply, and what does it apply to?

Regards,

Bill

6. Feb 26, 2008 #5
    ??? I thought wavelength = c/f.

Regards,

Bill

7. Feb 26, 2008 #6