1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Interested in PhD but no research experience

1. Mar 13, 2014 #1

jtf

Hello all,

I'm interested in any advice anyone can offer me. I graduated with a BSEE a few years ago and then worked in an electronics role for a little over a year. I saved enough money while working to quit my job, travel for awhile, and ponder my future. Even while working, I felt the pull to return to school. Since then, during my time away from the real world, I've decided I'd like to return to pursue a PhD in either physics or EE. I've been self-studying to brush up on some rusty theory, but my bigger problem is I lack research experience. I did well in school but I only have the grades to show for it. I also lack quality letters of recommendation. For this, I was thinking about taking a class or two as a non-degree seeking student to hopefully get current recommendations.

Couple questions...do you think the fact that I haven't worked or been in school for a couple years will be a major obstacle for admission to graduate school? Am I better off applying to lesser known PhD programs or first paying my way through an MSc to gain research experience?

Thanks for your time!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 14, 2014 #2
    I have experience in your situation but my experience is now >30 years old. I even had poor grades, but possibly good letters of recommendation and one semester of undergrad research. Even the research was under a cloud. I was supposed to complete it by May graduation, but it hung on until October. I graduated in May because I had enough credits without the research.