Interested & Need Advice: Medical Physics

In summary, the conversation covers topics such as pursuing a career in medical physics as an undergraduate student, finding research opportunities, and making oneself competitive for a medical physics program. It also discusses the different routes within medical physics - clinical work and research. The speaker shares their personal experience of working as a medical physicist, highlighting the rewarding aspects and challenges of the job.
TJh
Hello,

My name is TJ, and I'm currently in my second semester of undergraduate physics.

I'm interested in pursuing a career in medical physics, and would like to know where I could get related experience even though I'm only an undergrad currently. I haven't started any research, but I was thinking about pursuing nuclear or biophysics. Is this the closest I can get to medical physics related in my undergrad?

Besides doing well academically, how do I make myself competitive when I eventually apply to a medical physics program after my bachelors?

I heard there are a couple of different "routes"... there are medical physicists who deal with patients and then there's medical physics researchers. Are there any medical physicists on the forum? If so, could you tell me a day in your life, what you like about your career, and what you hate about it? I'm open to both routes, but don't have very much first hand information about either.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
TJh said:
I haven't started any research, but I was thinking about pursuing nuclear or biophysics. Is this the closest I can get to medical physics related in my undergrad?