Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Interesting problem I thought of

1. Apr 10, 2012 #1
    First, I apologize for any awkward language--I'm still relatively new to mathematics. This problem seems to be related to number theory as well if it pans out, but I thought it would be better suited here.

Given a point (x,y), can you always construct a circle such that the center of the circle lies in the coordinates (0,0), its radius being equal to the magnitude of the length (x,y) and a point on the circumference of the circle intersects (for lack of better words) the coordinate (x,y). In a set of real numbers ℝ?

If so, can you extend this to a point (x,y,z) and a sphere centered around the coordinate (0,0,0) with a radius equal to the magnitude of (x,y,z) in a set of real numbers ℝ?

Last edited: Apr 10, 2012
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 10, 2012 #2
    If you're asking if, given a point (x,y), can we construct a circle centred at the origin that passes through (x,y)? Certainly! Convert it into polar, and the equation describing our circle is

[tex]r\left(\theta\right)=\sqrt{x^2+y^2}[/tex]

, which is quite easily converted into rectangular. Something similar goes for spheres, with spherical coordinates.

4. Apr 10, 2012 #3
    Really? Any point? That is a very interesting conclusion!

How about for complex numbers and so forth?

Edit: Now since I think about it, it seems to be very intuitive and clear. As long as the circle has the same radius as the magnitude of the coordinate, then it will reach that point.

5. Apr 10, 2012 #4