Interesting problem I thought of

• Thread starter Nano-Passion
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Interesting
In summary: Well, depending on your definition of a slope, it might be possible. However, I don't think it would be justified to give a point a slope since points are infinitesimally small.
Nano-Passion
First, I apologize for any awkward language--I'm still relatively new to mathematics. This problem seems to be related to number theory as well if it pans out, but I thought it would be better suited here.

Given a point (x,y), can you always construct a circle such that the center of the circle lies in the coordinates (0,0), its radius being equal to the magnitude of the length (x,y) and a point on the circumference of the circle intersects (for lack of better words) the coordinate (x,y). In a set of real numbers ℝ?

If so, can you extend this to a point (x,y,z) and a sphere centered around the coordinate (0,0,0) with a radius equal to the magnitude of (x,y,z) in a set of real numbers ℝ?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
If you're asking if, given a point (x,y), can we construct a circle centred at the origin that passes through (x,y)? Certainly! Convert it into polar, and the equation describing our circle is

[tex]r\left(\theta\right)=\sqrt{x^2+y^2}[/tex]

, which is quite easily converted into rectangular. Something similar goes for spheres, with spherical coordinates.

Whovian said:
If you're asking if, given a point (x,y), can we construct a circle centred at the origin that passes through (x,y)? Certainly! Convert it into polar, and the equation describing our circle is

[tex]r\left(\theta\right)=\sqrt{x^2+y^2}[/tex]

, which is quite easily converted into rectangular. Something similar goes for spheres, with spherical coordinates.

Really? Any point? That is a very interesting conclusion!

How about for complex numbers and so forth?