Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is all matter in the universe moving at light speed?

1. Jan 10, 2009 #1
    First off, for my first post I would like to say Hello to all! Secondly, I am definitely a rookie in the subject that I'm discussing and if any of what I mention has been answered or has an explanation, please follow up on that with me! Again, I'm just a rookie and I am seeking more seasoned advice to the questions in this post! Thanks!

It is understood that time is a 4th dimension, meaning it interacts with the otherknown dimensions and is supposedly an "independent" law of nature, but what I am wondering is perhaps time is just a side effect of traveling the speed of light? Sort of like a lag. If the entire universe is moving at the speed of light, then everything else we can see in the universe will appear to be sitting still, much in the same way as a car going the same speed as you on the highway appears to be stationary, except the fact that it is moving forward. It is still to observers but in reality is actually moving.

So, it is known that if you were to travel the speed of light in a car, and turn on the headlights, that beam of light would travel away from you at the speed of light. At the same time, if we were to travel up to the speed of light, time for us would slow DOWN. Is that not obvious evidence of the idea that time is simply a side effect of traveling the velocity of light to begin with? Why does it have to be an extra dimension, as opposed to an illusion?