1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is Berkeley or Caltech a reasonable goal?

Tags:
  1. Jan 9, 2012 #1
    I am 26, just now starting college with a ged. one year into in with a 4.0 at university of Cincinnati. I know i have a lot of time ahead of me but I'm just trying to create a rough sketch of my future and was wondering how difficult it is to get into a school like Berkeley? To be honest I pick this one simply because of the location (wife and I plan on moving to north cali within 5 years or so...) but also I know the name and obviously am aiming for the best grad program I can get into. However, I just want to know how realistic it would be to get admitted, considering my age and that Ive no work experience (in the field of science, im a mechanic). Even if i can maintain a high gpa, are there other things I would have to do to be considered, such as research or work experience, etc??

What other schools in the California area might I want to look into?

I'm not set on a program yet, but plan on getting an undergrad in physics here in Cincinnati and am thinking about physics or engineering for grad school.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 10, 2012 #2
    Are you going for a masters or phd?

It's an admirable goal but it's extremely difficult to get into to either of those. So I wouldn't count on it. I wouldn't even hope for it. Research experience is a big part of it (including publications), also test scores and letters of recommendation, and then GPA. So a 4.0 doesn't guarantee you anything. Work experience is not really an issue, since most people don't work any significant jobs before grad school.

4. Jan 10, 2012 #3
    Depends a lot on the department and/or program.

I'll assume here that you are planning on a physics Ph.D.