UBC, Berkeley, or UCLA, for undergrad?

In summary, the conversation revolves around a California resident who is considering attending Berkeley, UCLA, or UBC for their undergraduate studies and their potential impact on their future grad school plans. The cost of attending each university is also discussed, with UBC being significantly cheaper. The expert suggests that education is what you make of it and that UBC has a strong reputation in the STEM fields. They also mention that while attending Berkeley or UCLA may have some benefits, it ultimately depends on the individual and their dedication to their studies. They advise the individual to consider the cost and their personal study habits when making their decision.
davidb98
Hi,

I'm a California resident who is also a Canadian citizen. I'm currently deciding between Berkeley, UCLA, and UBC (University of British Columbia). I would be majoring in physics at Berkeley and UCLA, while at UBC I would major in Engineering and hope to get into Engineering Physics. I'm also hoping to go to grad school.

Engineering Physics at UBC would take 5 years and be around C$22K/year (about US $17K currently, a total of US $85K). UCLA and Berkeley would be around $33-34K/year (a total of $132K).

Will I receive a better education at Berkeley or UCLA than at UBC? And will this difference be worth the additional cost, considering that I will probably be going to grad school?

Thanks for any advice!

Physics news on Phys.org
Education is what you make of it. It is perfectly possible to go to UBC and end up much better prepared for grad school. The clue is to take education into your own hands and to self-study a lot.

It is perfectly possible to get into grad school from UBC. But there are some benefits if you end up going to Berkeley and UCLA instead:
- Better students meaning you get encouraged and pushed further by your peers
- More research opportunities
- Perhaps more advanced classes