1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is honors linear algebra worth it?

1. Aug 14, 2012 #1
    Hey everyone, I'm majoring in physics and will be starting my first year in the fall. I'm currently registered in honors linear algebra, but have been thinking that it might be beneficial to take the regular linear algebra course. I'm also in honors calculus, but I know I want to stay in that. I do enjoy math quite a bit, however I am unsure if the honors course will be incredibly helpful. If anyone has any advice on this it would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 14, 2012 #2

ZombieFeynman

Gold Member

If you want to go on to graduate school (or simply excel as an undergraduate) and you are a motivated student, honors courses can only help. The additional rigor they emphasize and pressure they place you under are good for developing the mind. What do you think would get you in better shape: a twice a week Pilates class or Navy SEAL boot camp?

Generally schools have a 2-3 week no penalty drop/add should they be too much.

4. Aug 14, 2012 #3
    Linear Algebra isn't really that useful of a course IMO. You will use tons and tons of linear algebra in physics, but most of it you won't see in that class. You'll spend most of your time proving theorems about abstract vector spaces that have nothing to do with physics.

I think you're better off learning LA as you go along with the physics, and not getting so distracted on highly abstract math courses that even though you think will benefit you, in the end are usually a waste of time (for the physicist). This coming from a physics senior.

5. Aug 14, 2012 #4

ZombieFeynman

Gold Member