Is it a good idea to test out of first-year mechanics and e&m?

In summary, the individual is considering challenging exams for their first year physics courses in order to jump into more advanced courses. They are concerned about the potential risks and disadvantages of this path, but also see the potential benefits in terms of research and grad school admissions. Other individuals share their personal experiences and offer advice on the matter.
cordyceps
This fall will be my first semester at a university. I have a pretty easy schedule in HS so I'm studying the Feynman lectures and working Irodov's problems. Since the university doesn't give credit for University Physics I&II (Mechanics and E&M) for the AP Physics C exams, I'm planning to test out of University Physics I&II through a comprehensive exam administered either over the summer or during my first semester at the university. I really like physics so I figured this would allow me to jump into the more advanced physics courses early on.
My first semester schedule will probably be something like this (15-18 credit hours):
Linear Algebra
Mathematical Structures or if I do well on the comprehensive exam, Physics III [Thermodynamics, kinetic theory, physical and wave optics, relativity, photons, matter waves, atomic physics] and Mathematical Methods in Physics I [Differential equations, linear equations, vectors, matrices, Fourier series, and numerical methods]
English
Bio/Chem (second year)
Humanities Course
My question is should I try to test out of Physics I&II, and if so, is it a good idea to take Physics III and Mathematical Methods in Physics I (both must be taken simultaneously) my first semester or wait until second semester? Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
So basically you want to challenge the exams for your first year physics classes so you can jump into the more advanced stuff right away.