1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is this proof of the uncountablility of the irrationals valid?

1. Mar 6, 2014 #1
    Here is what I have come up with. It seems pretty sound to me, but I have little experience in pure math and want to be sure. (I know the easiest way is to show that R is not countable, Q is, so the irrationals, R-Q, is not, but I was wondering about this proof.)

Consider the following numbers:
    ... (When numbers of two or more digits are encountered, they repeat in the same way, e.g. in the first number we would have ...99999999910101010101010101010.... )

These numbers are irrational, as they are non-repeating infinite decimals. They also form an countably infinite set, as they are infinite but can be listed.

However, for obvious reasons, ∏ is not included. Nor is e, √2, or many other irrationals.
    Since the set of the irrationals contains more elements than a countable infinite set, it is uncountable. QED

Thanks for looking.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 6, 2014 #2

Mark44

Staff: Mentor

Just because you have a set that is "larger than" (has more elements than) some countably infinite set, that doesn't mean that the "larger" set is uncountably infinite. Consider the set {2, 4, 6, 8, ...}, which is a countably infinite set. By your reasoning (as I understand it), the set {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ...} is uncountably infinite because it has many more (an infinite number, actually) elements that are not also in the first set.

4. Mar 6, 2014 #3
    I get the idea that infinite sets can have the same cardinality even if they are of different "sizes", and that is part of my confusion, because I recall that sort of reasoning being employed successfully in other proofs, although probably I am misinterpreting it.