1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Kinetic Theory of Gases Average question

1. Mar 16, 2010 #1
    Hey I'm studying the Kinetic Theory of gases and although it's in a chemistry
    book it employs physics concepts ergo I have come here to ask you nice people :biggrin:

The 5th point is where I have a problem, the rest is just information for you.

I am assuming a particle is in a cube (ideal situations here) & it traverses a
    distance l with a momentum p=mv.

1. As it travels forward it will hit the cube wall and the resultant change in
    momentum will be;
    [tex]change \ in \ momentum \ = \ (mv) \ - \ (-mv) \ = \ 2mv[/tex]

2. The number of collisions per second will be;
    [tex]No.\ of \ collisions \ per \ second \ = \ \frac{velocity}{distance} \ = \ \frac{v}{l}[/tex]

3. The Change in momentum per second will be;
    [tex]Change \ in \ momentum \ per \ second = 2mv \frac{v}{l} \ = \ \frac{2mv^2}{l}[/tex]

4. I've assumed one particle in one direction. Assuming n particles with
    a total change in momentum per second of;
    [tex]total \ change \ in \ momentum \ per \ second \ = \ \frac{2m}{l} \ \displaystyle\sum_{i=1}^n v_i^2 [/tex]

5. Here is where I have the problem. The text says to do this next;

Define the root square mean velocity, [tex]\overline{v} [/tex] such that;
    [tex]\overline{v}^2 \ = \ \left( \ \frac{1}{n} \ \sum_{i=1}^n v_i^2 \right) [/tex]

What does this mean? Is this some mathematical concept from probabilities? I haven't done probabilities in math in like 5 years & even then that was in school :yuck: . Where did the [(2m)/l] fraction go?

Using this concept the book goes on to show that;
    [tex] The \ total \ change \ in \ momentum \ = \ [2mn \overline{v}^2 ] / l [/tex]