Kirchhoff loop rule

• Thread starter PainterGuy
  • Start date
hi everyone

this is about the example 26.4 in attached pdf. i'm having problem in conceptual understanding of kirchhoff's loop rule. i'm total beginner in physics. in the example 12v battery is used to feed the entire circuit, primarily to recharge the run-down battery. please see the highlighted part. the equation could be written as: 12v = (3A)r + 2A(3 ohm). this is the equation for loop labelled 1 in the diagram. this equation is saying that all the emf of 12v is being used in loop no. 1. r is 2 ohm - which means 12v = 3x2 + 2x3 = 12v. but "in reality" this is not the case because some of volts out of total emf of 12 are being used to push the electrons (or current) from point "b" to point "a". what i'm saying is that not all the volts are being used to traverse the loop labelled 1 (as the equation assumes). if this really was the case then there won't be any volts left to push the electrons through run-down battery. please help me to grasp the conceptual understanding of this aspect of kirchhoff loop rule. any help would be welcome.

edit: i just uploaded the pdf on googledoc:---
https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&...EyNjQtOGZkZjFmN2U0OWIy&hl=en&authkey=CPPhp64O

Attachments

Last edited:

Answers and Replies

tiny-tim
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
hi painterguy! :smile:
… but "in reality" this is not the case because some of volts out of total emf of 12 are being used to push the electrons (or current) from point "b" to point "a".

what i'm saying is that not all the volts are being used to traverse the loop labelled 1 (as the equation assumes). if this really was the case then there won't be any volts left to push the electrons through run-down battery.
no, you're fundamentally misunderstanding what https://www.physicsforums.com/library.php?do=view_item&itemid=301" is …

voltage is a difference, the difference in electric potential between two points