1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Kleppner and Kolenkow difficulty

1. Aug 29, 2016 #1
    So I have just started my freshman year at college, and I am majoring in physics. For the introductory sequence on mechanics, we are using Kleppner and Kolenkow. After reading the first section on vectors and kinematics, I feel as though I completely understand the material; however, when it comes to the problems, it seems that I could only solve a handful. KK is known for their problem difficulty. However, I want to get to the point where I can solve all of the problems in the chapter. When I can't solve one problem, I get discouraged, and when I can't solve three in a row, I get even more discouraged. I know that problem solving takes persistence, but what should I do when I just can't solve a problem, even though I feel as though I understand all of the reading material? Do I just read the section again?

edit: also, when I DO solve a problem, I always feel as though there is a better, more clever way to get to the solution that I am not doing, which is also discouraging...

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 29, 2016 #2
    Any time you can't solve a problem, it's because there's a deficiency there--either in your mathematical knowledge or your physics knowledge. That's not a bad thing! When you do solve those problems, it's that much more experience you have solving physics problems. Eventually you start to see common patterns of approaching problems.