Knowing when to decompose weight vector vs. normal vector

In summary: The normal force is perpendicular to the velocity vector so it makes sense to choose the x-axis down the incline.The normal force is perpendicular to the velocity vector so it makes sense to choose the x-axis down the incline.
TRB8985
Homework Statement
Knowing whether there is a "correct" way to approach breaking down vectors by decomposing the normal force compared to the weight.
Relevant Equations
F = ma ; W = mg
Good afternoon everyone,

I have a question on Newton's 2nd Law regarding objects on a generic incline. Take for example, a car on a banked curve:

SY6No.png
Here in the picture I've provided, you can see that the normal force has been decomposed into the x and y components via sine and cosine of the angle multiplied by N.

My question is.. is there a particular reason that seems to be the norm? When I was an undergraduate, I seemed to always be under the impression that the normal was strictly perpendicular to a surface, and instead, it was the weight vector that was decomposed with the coordinate system parallel to the tilted surface, like this:

1.png
My initial thought was that these were equivalent ways of approaching the same idea. Just wanted to be sure.

Likes Delta2
Physics news on Phys.org
First of all, the acceleration of the system will be the same regardless how you draw your ##x## and ##y## axes in terms of which you write your vectors. Nature doesn't know the alphabet. The rule of thumb is that if you have two-dimensional situations, as in the one above, you choose axes so that the acceleration is along one of the principal axes.