Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ladder Operators acting upon N Ket

1. Jan 9, 2010 #1
    I can't seem to find information regarding this anywhere.

I understand why when the ladder operators act upon an energy eigenstate of energy E it produces another eigenstate of energy E [tex]\mp\hbar \omega[/tex]. What I don't understand is why the following is true:

[tex]\ a \left| \psi _n \right\rangle &= \sqrt{n} \left| \psi _{n-1} \right\rangle [/tex]
    [tex]\ a^{\dagger} \left| \psi _n \right\rangle &= \sqrt{n+1} \left| \psi _{n+1} \right\rangle [/tex]

I don't really even know what [tex] \left| \psi _n \right\rangle[/tex] represents, though I think it is something to do with the state of a system. How can you derive the above property?

I am a bit of a beginner to SHO in quantum theory.

Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 9, 2010 #2
    Any help would be greatly appreciated, I am sure I am missing something simple. Thanks

4. Jan 9, 2010 #3
    [tex]\psi_n[/tex] is a stationary state of the harmonic oscillator with energy [tex]E = (n+1/2)\hbar \omega[/tex]

Ladder operators [tex]a_{+}, a_{-}[/tex] raise the energy of the state from n to n+1 or lower n to n-1.

Since the energy changes the state must change as well since the state is characterized by its energy. If you raise the energy by n+1 you raise the state to [tex]\psi_{n+1}[/tex]

So you can sort of see that if a ladder operator acts on a stationary wave function in state n it will raise the state to n+1 by some proportionality constant:

[tex]\ a_+ \left| \psi _n \right\rangle \alpha \left| \psi _{n+1} \right\rangle[/tex]

The two are proportional. Mathematically you can show the proportionality constants are [tex]\sqrt{n+1} and \sqrt{n}[/tex] respectively.

5. Jan 9, 2010 #4