1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Learning Python: Where to start?

1. May 14, 2012 #1
    I'll be working for most of the summer and won't be able to take classes in anything so instead I will be teaching myself a new programming language! I have experience with java already and I've heard from places around the web that Python is both fun and useful. I figure I'll give it a shot.

Does anyone know of a good site to get started learning python? MIT has courseware for their intro to CSC class that teaches python but if there is an easier way for an amateur (I've had two semesters of java) then please point me in that direction.

if this happens to be in the wrong section, my apologies. Thanks!

EDIT: I'm a rising sophomore majoring in Physics. Are there different languages that would best suit my needs at this point?

Last edited: May 14, 2012
  2. jcsd
  3. May 14, 2012 #2
    So you have some experience in another Object-oriented language, Java, already?

In which case, I've heard good things about Learn Python the Hard Way, though you'll have to pay for any format other than HTML. I don't like their approach about memorizing the names of all the symbols (arbitrary conventions given to shapes), but it's still okay.

Last edited: May 14, 2012
  4. May 14, 2012 #3
    I would say I'm still learning python but these have been real useful resources for me:

http://www.scipy.org/SciPy [Broken]

http://matplotlib.sourceforge.net/

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL9FAE4422FA13FDE4&feature=plcp

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  5. May 14, 2012 #4
    One of the introductory CS courses on MIT OCW teaches using Python. I enjoyed it.

6. May 21, 2012 #5