Least Squares Regression Analysis - No Idea

In summary, the speaker is a first year undergraduate student studying Engineering and Computing Sc, and they have an assignment for their Linear Algebra course. Question 2 of the assignment is on Least Squares Regression Analysis (LSRA), which has not been taught to the students. The speaker is seeking someone to explain the concept in simpler terms and provide a sufficient understanding to solve the given problem. They have attempted to research LSRA online but have found it difficult to understand. However, they have eventually managed to solve the problem after a lot of reading.
skullers_ab
Hello,
I am a first year undergraduate university student majoring in Engineering and Computing Sc. One of my courses is Linear Algebra. We have been given an assignment in which question no. 2 is out of syllabus. It is on Least Squares Regression Analysis. This has not been taught to us. We (all the students doing this course) have no idea what it is or how to solve problems relating to it. Others have given up and are just doing the rest of the assignment.

I would appreciate it if someone is willing to explain it to me in simpler terms than what I find around on other maths related articles. Perhaps at a level which is sufficient to solve the given problem.

Homework Statement

The whole assignment is attached. This discussion is on question no. 2 which is on page 2 and continues to page 3.

The dataset for the problem is also attached as 'exercise.xls'.

Homework Equations

No Idea

The Attempt at a Solution