Looking for inroads to higher-level physics

• Thread starter dpackard
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the conversation is about a second year college student looking for book recommendations to learn more advanced physics, specifically General Relativity, Quantum Mechanics, and Standard Model. They are currently taking a Linear Algebra course and are looking for books between popular science level and full-on textbooks. They also ask for recommendations on what math topics to learn to understand higher level physics. Other users recommend books such as "Modern Physics" by Bernstein, Fishbane and Gasiorowicz and "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics" by Griffiths. The conversation also discusses the importance of understanding special relativity, PDEs, Green's functions, and group theory in physics.
dpackard
I'm a 2nd year college undergrad who is very interested in physics. I'm in my 3rd semester of physics courses, currently introductory E&M, but I really want to learn more advanced physics as well, or at least enough to understand things at a semi-technical level.

I posted this here because it really isn't one specific topic that I'm interested in, but it all. GR, QM, SM, and beyond.

I guess I am looking for book recommendations for starters. I'm currently taking a Linear Algebra course, so I'm looking for somewhere between the pop-sci level of "The Elegant Universe" and "QED" (both of which I've read this past summer) and a full-on textbook. I'm not even sure if this stuff exists, which is why I'm asking. My university have a fairly extensive science library, so if the only thing above pop-sci are textbooks, by all means recommend some.