1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Looking for inspiration to work on a project of my own (Robotics)

1. Nov 17, 2016 #1
    Hi

I am a mathematician who has branched off into mechanical engineering, cybernetics and robotics. If I wanted to work on a project of my own, where can I find inspiration for what to work on? Where can I find what kinds of problems engineers are currently working on?

I can go to some university websites, like MIT Biomimetics Robotics Lab, to see what they have been working on to get an idea of what to do, but they rarely post anything new; On occassion there may be a TED talk that tells me what people are working on, but they are rare. Where else can I go for ideas?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 18, 2016 #2

Baluncore

Science Advisor

You do not need ideas, you need experience working with others. In time you will find a problem that inspires you while working with others.
    Your situation is self regulating. If you cannot find an inspiring problem, you should not yet be working by yourself.

4. Nov 23, 2016 #3
    Insipiring problem? How about no problem? I just dont know where to look for problems to solve.

I mean, for mathematics I can go to, for instance, openproblemgarden. Sure, not all the problems there are interesting, but at least I have access to them. There are lists of unsolved problems in various fields of academia online and in libraries. Also, finding books on progress made on those issues do not take long to find either.

In the case of engineering, however, it seems harder to find problems; Especially the fields I am interested in.. If I was into computer graphics, I would have looked at the videos SIGGRAPH upload to YouTube... However, for automation and the things I am interested in, I dont know where to look.