1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Lost physics student problem with vectors

1. Jan 29, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    These are two problems my professor has given me to do. I'm not very good at physics and could use a little help.

1. Sir Killalot's foe Dead Metal is due north of Sir Killalot's position and at a distance of 12m. Dead Metal moves 15m at an angle of 30 degress to a new location. How far and in what direction should Sir Killalot move to intercept Dead Metal?

He gave us the answers, but I'm not sure how to find the solution
    Answer: 23.4m @ 56.3 degrees

2. A bug has a displace ment along a line which make an angle of 70 degrees to the x axis. (a) How far from the origin must the bug be located so that its displacement from the origin has an x component of 45cm? (b) What is the y component of the bug's displacement?
    Answer: (a) 132cm; (b) 124cm

My professor doesn't really care to elaborate. I'm just wondering how I would go about solving these two problems? Any help would be much appreciated.
    Thanks

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 29, 2013 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Welcome to PF!

Hi Wats! Welcome to PF! :wink:

Draw the triangle, then use geometry (cosine and sine rules) to find the length and/or angle you're looking for.

(alternatively, use x and y coordinates, if you know what that means)

Show us what you get. :smile:

4. Jan 29, 2013 #3