1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Masters degree for Physics teaching

1. Dec 26, 2011 #1
    I am an undergrad who wants to teach high school physics in the US (most likely public school). I am seeking some advice about a masters degree. I could either pursue a masters degree in education or in physics. The M.ed would probably include student teaching. The M.sc would probably require some extra student teaching separately after graduation.

Everyone that I talk to seems to feel that one or the other is the ONLY option! and that I am crazy to consider anything else. I have heard of studies that claim that masters degrees are not correlated to teaching performance. I have also heard that IF there is a correlation, it is stronger for teachers with degrees in the field they are teaching. I have this info from NPR and NYTimes, but I do not know the specific when/where/who for the actual studies.

I have about a year to decide. My personal desire would lean me towards more study of physics since I think that I will learn the most about teaching from actually doing it rather than abstractly studying it. However, that may be influence by the fact that I just enjoy studying physics.

If anyone knows about any studies that point one way or the other (or more likely point nowhere) I would like to hear about it. I would also like opinions from people who are teaching.

Thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 28, 2011 #2
    all you need is a bs to teach hs physics

4. Dec 28, 2011 #3

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Not exactly true.