Masters (PhD if possible) online

• Thread starter flyguy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Masters
In summary: So I would recommend the Master's in Astronomy from the Swinburne University of Technology in Australia.
flyguy
I am brand new here. So be kind! :) I have a few questions for you pros!

I am in my late thirties and working as an airline pilot for a US major airline. I have a Bachelor's of science in 'Aeronautics' (non-engineering). I have always been fascinated in astrophysics and it has grown to be a major interest/hobby of mine.

Now I am looking to pursue a Master's or PhD in this subject - online. My goal is to get a formal education in the subject. And I would like to do some independent research after graduation. Maybe write a blog, seek out any public speaking opportunities (however small) etc.

The opportunity cost associated with quitting flying temporarily is too high for me to consider attending a conventional university. And as much as I wish to be in academia full time after graduation, I've spent too much time building a career as an aviator: and changing careers is not in my future.

So here are my questions:

1. Can you guys and gals recommend any such online programs? From my research I found only 2 graduate programs. And I didn't find any PhD programs. Anyone know of any other options other than the 2 listed below?

2. These are the programs I found online:
a: Master's in Astronomy from the Swinburne University of Technology in Australia
b: Master's in Astrophysics from the Liverpool John Moores University in United Kingdom

Out of these two, what would you recommend? Though both of the program content looks similar, one is a degree in 'Astronomy' vs. 'Astrophysics'. Does that make much of a difference when it comes to recognition?