Math Tutoring Tips: Dealing with Mistakes & Misunderstanding

• MHB
  • Thread starter woof123
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Tips
In summary, as a newer tutor, you may encounter students who frequently make mistakes and think they understand the material, but perform poorly on tests. To address this, have the student explain their solutions and use correct language to ensure understanding. It may also be helpful to emphasize the importance of mathematics as a liberal art that improves critical thinking skills and protects against mathematical propaganda. You can also try teaching the Conservation of Symbols Law to improve attention to detail in algebra.
woof123
I am a newer tutor and trying to deal with a couple issues. How do you approach students who 1)frequently make mistakes (negative signs, etc) and 2) think they understand something but didn't do well on the test of that material

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't pretend to have full and complete answers for you. To some extent, the answers vary on a student-by-student basis. Your second question is easier to answer than the first, by far: simply have the student talk you through their solutions. It's not a bad idea first to watch the student work through the process with no input at all from you. Be comfortable with the student struggling to explain, but also be firm in requiring correct language. If a student can clearly explain a process, using correct language, then that student understands the process. To be more certain, then throw a few different kinds of problems at the student, all requiring the same concept.

As for your first question, this is, as likely as not, an attitude problem as much as anything. I'd be willing to bet that your students who have this problem think very poorly of mathematics. They don't see the point, they think they're horrible at it, they've probably heard other people say they're horrible at it, etc.