1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Matrix multiplication, P1.1.1 Golub/Van Loan-Matrix Computations 3rd

Tags:
  1. Aug 28, 2014 #1
    Hi,
    I am studying linear algebra from Golub G.H., Van Loan C.F.- Matrix Computations 3rd edition. This book is somewhat old now, but I find it rather comprehensive. I want to study all chapters and answer all problems appear at the end of each section. Here is the first problem from the first section. I found a solution but I am not sure if that is the right one.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Suppose [itex] A \in \mathbb{R}^{n\times n}[/itex] and [itex]x \in \mathbb{R}^{r} [/itex] are given. Give a saxpy algorithm for computing the first column of [itex] M=(A-x_{1}I) \dots (A-x_{r}I)[/itex].

2. Relevant equations
    saxpy operation updates a vector ##y## by a scalar-vector multiplication. It is the shorthand for "scalar a x plus y". If [itex] x,y \in \mathbb{R}^{n} [/itex] and [itex] a \in \mathbb{R} [/itex], then saxpy algorithm can be written as below.

Code (Text):

for i=1:n
      y(i) = a x(i) + y(i)
    end

3. The attempt at a solution
    For this problem I propose a generalized solution. I suppose ##M## is multiplication of ##r## arbitrary matrices.

Consider matrix multiplication ##C=AB##.
    Any column of ##C## can be written as a linear combination of the columns of ##A##. For example, if
    [tex]A=\begin{bmatrix}
    1 & 2 \\
    3 & 4
    \end{bmatrix},
    \;
    B=\begin{bmatrix}
    5 & 6 \\
    7 & 8
    \end{bmatrix}
    [/tex]
    then fırst column of [itex] C=\begin{bmatrix} c_1 & c_2 \end{bmatrix} [/itex] (column partitioned) is
    [tex]
    c_1=\begin{bmatrix}
    1 \\
    \end{bmatrix}5 +
    \begin{bmatrix}
    2 \\
    \end{bmatrix}7
    [/tex]