Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Matrix Representation of Linear Transformation

1. May 1, 2016 #1
    la_1.png

This is where I am stuck. I studied ordered basis and coordinates vector previous to this.
    of course I studied vector space, basis, linear... etc too,
    However I can't understand just this part. (maybe this whole part)
    Especially
    la_2.png
    this one which says [[T(b1)]]c....[[T(bn)]]c be a columns of matrix.

Can any one please explain me how this works? I've stuck at here too long.

2. jcsd
  3. May 1, 2016 #2

fresh_42

Staff: Mentor

This is how ##A## is defined: ("Define ##A## to be ...") the images of basis vectors of ##V## under the transformation ##T## expressed in coordinates of ##C## with respect to the given bases in ##C## as column vectors of ##A##.

The author then shows that the so defined ##A## describes / is in accordance to / concurs / fully determines (whatever) the entire transformation ##T##, as it maps any vector ##v## when expressed in the coordinates of ##V## with respect to the basis ##\mathit{B}## (RHS) onto the image ##T(v)## expressed in the coordinates of ##W## with respect to the basis ##\mathit{C}## (LHS).

EDIT: For short: The matrix ##A## of ##T## can be written as all images of basis vectors of ##V## arranged in columns.

4. May 1, 2016 #3

blue_leaf77

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Any vector ##v\in V## can be uniquely written as a linear combination of ##\{b_1,\ldots,b_n\}##, i.e. ##v = \sum_{i=1}^n \beta_i b_i##. Operating ##T## on ##v##,
    $$
    Tv = \sum_{i=1}^n \beta_i (Tb_i)
    $$
    The thing inside the bracket in right side above implies that the action of ##T## on any vector in ##V## is going to be completely characterized if you know ##Tb_i## for ##i=1,\ldots,n##.