Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Meaning of flush error received from mod-bus slave

Tags:
  1. Mar 13, 2017 #1
    I have a PC(as master) and a compressor(as slave) in modbus communication. I am using 1000ft cable and I want to analyze the interference effect on the data communication error. I am coupling burst signals produced by the relay switching and I could observe the level of burst to be ~50V. When I am coupling this bursts I am getting error messages from slave. The type of error is 'FLUSH'. I need to know what is mean by the flush error err.PNG

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 13, 2017 #2

anorlunda

Staff: Mentor

Wow. I can only guess. Could it be that a buffer got full and the contents were flushed before resuming?

I think the only one who can tell you for sure is the software's author.

4. Mar 13, 2017 #3

berkeman

I don't see anything about Flush in the Exception Codes at the wikipedia page about Modbus:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modbus

What is your physical layer? Doubly-terminated RS-485? How are you coupling the noise into the cable? What cable are you using, and what value of termination resistors are you using?

5. Mar 13, 2017 #4

anorlunda

6. Mar 14, 2017 #5
    I already saw this, but this function is defined if developers are using libmodbus library right? Will that error description be same even if libmodbus library being not used? I didnt see such error definition in modbus.org

7. Mar 14, 2017 #6
    So what do you think, can I correct this error by modifying via software means? I mean with the help of developers?

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 14, 2017
  8. Mar 14, 2017 #7

anorlunda

I think your evidence is too weak to guess at a remedy. You need to investigate more to find the cause.

Have you contacted the manufacturer?

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 14, 2017
  9. Mar 14, 2017 #8