1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mechanical Engineering Technology vs. Physics

1. Oct 22, 2009 #1
    I'm a freshman college student and I'm confused about what I want my major to be. My current major is Mechanical Engineering Technology. I love engineering because I want to design and create machines that will be beneficial to human life, but I love physics because I want to know how the universe operates. Sadly Physics is not offered as a minor at my school, but Physics majors have a choice to have an Engineering concentration. Even though I can choose this option, I won't have the Engineering class that I would really want. Materials Science, Statics, Fluid/Thermodynamics, and Hydraulics/Pneumatics aren't part of the curriculum. I need to decide by Monday, since registration for Spring classes start. I have a strong passion for both majors. Please help me decide.

Here is the course schedule for Physics:
    http://www.vsu.edu/PDFFiles/University%20Relations/PHYSICS%20CURRICULUM%20ALL.pdf [Broken]

PS: In engineering I really want to work in the Aerospace field. Lifelong passion...

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 26, 2009 #2
    Well, from my experience, Engineering technology is easier to find a job than Physics. If your goal is to get a job after you graduate, that is.

Physics is a good major to get into if you are into education. You will learn a lot more, and it is harder than engineering technology.

4. Oct 26, 2009 #3