Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mediators and propagators of particle interactions

1. May 25, 2010 #1
    hello I'm studying nuclear physics and I have a lot of questions which I can't figure out.
    The first thing has been thrown in my mind by a colleague of mine about propagators of particle interactions. It has been said that, for example, photons are the mediators for the electromagnetic interaction: what does it mean exactly? Does a resting charge continuosly emit an infinite number of photons all over the surrounding space? And if so, as photons should bring energy, doesn't this mean that the charge is losing its energy? I know that this can't be true but this means I didn't understand well the point. Or does it emit photons just when another charge is present? Wouldn't that mean that the electric field is "activated" just in presence of other charges, when I thought it was a intrinsic property of the charge?

Thanks for the help, valleyman

P.S. I'd appreciate a lot some links to *simple/basic* articles or lessons talking about this argument (interactions, propagators, Feynamnn diagrams and so on..)

2. jcsd
  3. May 25, 2010 #2

tom.stoer

Science Advisor

For static charges a physical gauge like Coulomb gauge is most appropriate. In such a physical gauge you will find a static Coulomb potential. In the radiation gauge it looks like if static charges radiate, but is is not a physical process but a matehmatical artefact.

Perhaps it makes sense to merge this discussion with https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=405604

4. May 25, 2010 #3
    thanks for the help but I'm sorry to say that I still can't understand the answer to my question...

5. May 25, 2010 #4