1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Middle School teacher: battery storage

1. Mar 18, 2016 #1

LK5

Hello PF,
    I am a middle school teacher in Humboldt county, CA and teach physical science to eighth graders. We are beginning our electricity and magnetism unit and have students have experimented with making a light bulb illuminate using a battery and copper wire. My question is, if we make a more permanent set-up with the wire attached to the battery and light bulb with electrical tape, would it be safe to keep our battery somewhere in the classroom? My concern is that the materials would become too hot and I need to create a safe place where students can observe the battery still powering the light bulb so their safety is not compromised. Are there any suggestions or previous set-ups that were successful? Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 18, 2016 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

You're doing an experiment like this?

Personally I wouldn't tape the setup together permanently as it makes it easier for the loose wire to accidentally short the battery and using a D cell as the source will get hot very quickly.

There were a some news stories floating around a few years about accidental fires started by 9v batteries left in junk drawers where the + and - posts could touch creating a short and starting a fire. The recommendation was to cover the posts with electrical when disposing of them and keeping them in their original packaging until you're ready to use them.

http://fireprotectiontesting.com/dangers-of-9-volt-batteries/

4. Mar 18, 2016 #3

berkeman