1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Minor or Second major in physics

1. Oct 13, 2012 #1
    Hi this is my first post so hopefully im doing it right. Well im a freshman at NJIT and im having a blast. Im majoring in computer engineering and dont wish to change. My dad wanted me to major in physics and he is mad that im not doing it. I like physics a lot more than any other science but i wanna major in computer engineering. Would it be more beneficial for me to take a minor in physics or double major in physics and computer engineering. I know that the double major will take more time but would it be worth it more in the long run than a minor. Thanks for all the advice in advance

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 13, 2012 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

If you're doing something to make your father happy, you should ask him for what he thinks.

4. Oct 13, 2012 #3
    Well my father wants me to just straight up major in physics only and do research because that was always his goal but since he was an immigrant he could never accomplish it. i just want to know if the minor is just as beneficial and a double major and whats the difference in terms of future benefits

5. Oct 13, 2012 #4
    I know this is not what you asked but personally I advise you to stay miles and miles away from trying to please your father by making a life changing decisions on his behalf.

6. Oct 14, 2012 #5
    How about talking to your father about him pursing his educational goals?

7. Oct 14, 2012 #6