1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Motivated, but have no idea where to start

1. Sep 4, 2010 #1
    Hi,

I am not a math person. I am terrible at math and have made it to college feeling like I have missed out on something great. Not only have I made it to college, but I am what liberal arts students consider "retired from math". I have completed the math credit I need to fulfill my major, but I feel incomplete. I didn't take pre-calculus or calculus in high school, I took the three years I had to and called it quits until college. Now I have made it through the liberal arts math class at my university and feel a sense of true regret. I am in my second semester of college and I'm not satisfied. Math is something I've been putting off since I was young, I never faced it because I thought I'd be able to meet my goals with the minimum. "I want to be an attorney, not an engineer..." that was my excuse. I could just keep going and not look back, but I feel like I have deprived myself of something I never even gave a chance. I am filled with true regret. That's why I signed up for an account on this forum. I want to take a calculus class. I am embarrassed to say that I can't even sign up for a calculus class. I have to take the pre-requisite for the calculus class, and before I can take the pre-requisite, I have to take a test called the ALEKS. I don't know where to start. I want to try to prepare for the test on my own and need advice for getting off the ground. What are some ways I can study independently? What are some websites or methods that would help? I need someone to point me in the right direction because I am really very lost.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 4, 2010 #2

phyzguy

Science Advisor