1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Moving from Engineering to Physics

1. Nov 14, 2011 #1
    Hi!

I'm a senior and since I was a Freshman, I wanted to pursue a career in Physics. However, financial reasons and job uncertainties are forcing me to get a bachelor degree in Electrical Engineering instead - even thought this isn't the career I want to follow. It's just a safer option for my family and I, since it is easier to find a good paying job with a Engineering degree than with a Physics degree.

My question is, after I graduate, would I have any chances of entering a Graduate school in Physics? I plan to graduate in one of the best colleges in Latin America and I'm willing to enter some scientific research programs that they offer. I've decided to enter do Electrical Engineering because it overlaps nicely with many Physics courses, but I plan to study all the missing parts on my own as well. Would I have a shot at a top-tier school in Europe or in the U.S.? Or would my bachelor degree in EE be substantially harmful when compared to the pool of other applicants?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 15, 2011 #2

fss

At a top-tier university your relatively weak application will be competing against strong applications from the rest of the world; undergraduate physics majors, mostly. You'll have a chance, but a very slim one.

4. Nov 16, 2011 #3
    I would give you the same advice I gave just now to someone trying to switch out of physics to engineering, modified appropriately: