Multiplying Fractions Clarification

• Thread starter swingGG
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Fractions
In summary, the conversation discusses the process of multiplying fractions and how to simplify the numbers before doing so. The discussion also touches on the concept of prime numbers and how they play a role in simplifying fractions. The conversation ends with the understanding that with practice, one can quickly spot common factors and simplify fractions without having to break down the numbers into their prime factors.
swingGG
Hi! I am quite new at Maths in general, just recently started get an interest for it (Aswell as general physics/philosophy) and I am trying to learn on my own, so if this question is totally retarded, feel free to let your anger out haha.
Anyway, I borrowed a book from a friend that looked fun, "Mathemathics for Engineers".
And after 5 pages i ran into some trouble, with one of the explanations in the book.
So they show how we multiply fractions, this is the example used:

[itex]\frac{2}{3}[/itex] * [itex]\frac{5}{12}[/itex] = [itex]\frac{2*5}{3*12}[/itex]=[itex]\frac{1*5}{3*6}[/itex]=[itex]\frac{5}{18}[/itex]

So what I am not really understanding is how we go from [itex]\frac{2*5}{3*12}[/itex] to [itex]\frac{1*5}{3*6}[/itex].

What it looks like is that they have divided 2 by 2 and 12 by 2. I understand why this is done, to shorten the number down, the results will still be same, 5/18 or 10/36. But why the 2 and 12? Just because they are the easiest ones to shorten? And if so, which are the rules for shortening numbers down?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Well, you could expand your fraction first as:
(2*5)/(3*12)=(2*5)/(3*2*6) Agreed that this is legal, writing 2*6 instead of 12?
Now, knowing the multiplication rule, you can do it BACKWARDS as well, writing:

(2*5)/(3*2*6)=(2/2)*(5/(3*6)) (That is, "demultiplying" the fraction 2/2 from the other fraction!)

But, a number divided by itself equals 1, so you get:
(2/2)*(5/(3*6))=1*(5/(3*6)).