1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

My chance of getting into grad school?

1. Dec 29, 2011 #1
    Hi.
    Im a undergrad senior currently and am going to apply for grad school right after i take my GRE. Im wonder what my chances are of getting in.

Im applying for the same university where im going to be graduating from ( stony brook ). [[ for a Masters, M.A., not a Ph.D ]]

My major is MAT, pure math.
    GPA / Major GPA are aboth 3.2 ish.
    No research experience.
    Upper division GPA is also around 3.2 ish.
    3 Letters of recommendation with 2 average and 1 above average.
    GRE quantatative expected to be 100 percentile.
    As I asked, admission is not competitve.

Upper division courses taken.
    analysis in several dimensions, abstract algebra, dynamics and chaos, differential toplogy, complex analysis, applied analysis, geometric structures, and off course linear algebra and 1 dimensional analysis

And the part where i screwd up and worry about the most, is that my GPA has been on a steady decline with most recent semester having c+ c+ b+ for 3 of my major courses

Thank you so much for helping.
    Happy new year!

Last edited: Dec 29, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 29, 2011 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

What did they say when you asked them?

4. Dec 29, 2011 #3
    You really should have taken the phys GRE if you wanted to get into Stony Brook. Infortunately most schools don't like to take their undergrads for grad school (it happens, but you have to be stronger than their average candidate). If you really have your heart set on SB, then you should start building a relationship with a professor that you're willing to do grad school research with... that's your best shot.