My understanding of relativity - is this correct?

• Thread starter Urkelli
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Relativity
In summary, Urkelli is explaining the Frames per Second (FPS) used in movies and games. FPS is the number of times the picture updates per second. Most games have a minimum of 60 FPS, which creates the illusion of movement. If you are traveling towards one of two planets and the speed of light is 100 kph, then you will see 1 hour old pictures when looking at either planet because it takes 1 hour for the light to reach you. If you are moving at a speed greater than the speed of light, then you will see the pictures "flashing" by faster than they would if you were still. If you were to look at the right planet (while still heading towards the left one), you would
Urkelli
Okay, I'm kind of new to the subject but I'm learning quite rapidly!
So I've been interested in Einstein's theories for some time now and been reading and watching movies about it and I need to know if I have understood it correctly.
This is my understanding of the relativity theory, it might be a little different, but probably just another side of the same coin.

Before I start, I need to talk about FPS, or Frames per Second. FPS is used mostly within movie and games so tell how many times the picture updates per second.
The most common number of FPS during a game is 60. That means the screen flashes pictures 60 times per second, creating an illusion that it is moving.

Just to make it easier to explain this, let's just assume life is in 100 FPS and the speed of light is 100 km/h (very much lower than the real number). Everything you see in real-life is pictures (let's assume this as well) flashing before our eyes, also creating the illusion that it is moving (like a TV-Screen)