1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

N-Body Problem - Initial Values

1. Jan 18, 2013 #1
    Hello everyone,
    I'm new here so let me introduce myself first:
    I'm a games engineering student and my main field is programming

Right now I'm struggeling with the N-Body Problem, well I think actually solved parts of it:
    I've implemented the basic equations with a leapfrog algorithm and they seem to be working correctly

Now I have 2 questions:

1.)
    When I place a star at a certain position, I want to calculate the ideal velocity in order to produce an orbit. How is this achieved?

2.)
    How can I calculate the Angular Velocity for an NBody-Problem?

----------------------------------
    My current setup (as reference):

sun (position=0,0,0; mass=333, velocity=0,0,0)
    earth(position=-50,0,0, mass=1, velocity=0,0,2)

This is producing a stable circular orbit
    It is also possible to add more earths/planets with stable orbits
    I know that the mass ratio is not quite right, but i want to achieve a "compressed universe"
    ----------------------------------------

I would appreciate your help on this.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 18, 2013 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

everybody does - you realize there is no analytical solution?
    ...depending on what you mean by "solved" of course :)
    I mean to show you that physicists think of the n-body problem a bit differently to comp-scientists ... I'm guessing you are trying some sort of parallel processing?
    For a particular stable orbit, the velocity (and speed) will be different for different parts of the orbit. For a circular orbit, you just need to balance centripetal acceleration for both bodies with the force of gravity on them.