Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need general algorithm for finding dual bases

1. Jan 3, 2010 #1
    hi,

this is my first post on this site so please excuse me (and correct me) if i am not posting according to the guidelines.

im studying right now linear transformations and im a bit shaky concerning dual vector spaces.
    i understand the definition but am not sure how to apply it. what exactly is the connection between a regular basis and its dual basis?
    i know the delta i,j definition, but that requires an intuitive solution, and thats not always an option.

so in short: is the a general algorithm for computing dual basis, under the assumption that the original vector space and a certain basis are known?

thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 4, 2010 #2

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

What do you mean by "computing" dual basis? To find the components of the dual basis vectors in some other basis? Which basis would that be?

4. Jan 4, 2010 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Here's my interpretation: given an n dimensional vector space, V, its "dual space", V*, is the set of all linear functions from V to its underlying field. Then, given any basis for V, there exist a corresponding "dual basis" or basis for V*.

If the basis for V is [itex]\{e_1, e_2, \cdot\cdot\cdot, v_n\}[/itex] then the corresponding "dual basis" is [itex]\{f_1, f_2, \cdot\cdot\cdot, f_n\}[/itex] where each [itex]f_i[/itex] is defined by "[itex]f_i(v_i)= 1[/itex] and if [itex]j\ne i[/itex], [itex]f_i(v_j)= 0[/itex]". that is, [itex]f_i(v_j)= \delta_{ij}[/itex].

I have no idea why donkeykong123 thinks that is an "intuitive" solution nor what he means by a "general algorithm". That definition looks as "algorithmic" as any to me!

5. Jan 12, 2010 #4
    There is an important idea here that hasn't come out yet.