Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need help determining torque required

1. Mar 25, 2013 #1
    Hi, all! I am looking for some assistance on designing a machine. I have to admit, I am just a Mechanical Designer/Draftsman, and need some help determining the right motor to use.

Here is the setup:
    -I have a 60" diameter table. It is 0.25" thick. I am using general steel density to spec it's weight to about 185lbs. This weight is calculated with slots cut out of table, reducing overall weight.
    -On top of the table, there will be a load of 3,750lbs. This is a coil with an ID of 35", and an OD of 57".
    -All in all, there is 3,935lbs atop the table.
    -I have motors with a 1" shaft diameter.

My question is, how much torque will be required to rotate the table top (with load) at a speed of around 1-2 RPM's?

I am slightly confused on the formulas, so any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Also, see the sketch I did for descriptions in detail!

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 26, 2013 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

You will need very little torque to maintain a constant rotation speed - just enough to balance the friction at that speed.
    You need more torque to accelerate it though - the amount depends on how quickly you want it to get up to speed.

4. Mar 26, 2013 #3
    You'll need the equation for torque and angular acceleration: [itex]\tau = I\alpha[/itex], where I is the mass moment of inertia. Since the coil and the table have the same axis of rotation, you won't have to use the parallel axis theorem to get the combined moment of inertia, so you can just add them up: [itex]I = \frac{m(r_1^2+r_2^2)}{2}[/itex]. You'll have to decide how quickly the table and disk need to come up to speed at 1-2 RPM, and that will decide your alpha.