Need help graphing a step function within Matlab

In summary: Sets limits of xsteps = size(x,2); // I'm not exactly sure what these do, but I was told to do this becausey = zeros(steps); // I needed to define yif (x <= 2) y = x^2;elseif (x >= 2)y = 2.*x-8;plot(x,y)...logical function to test for equality.
Lolsauce
So I'm not going to lie, I'm pretty new with this software. I was assign a homework assignment, but I'm not sure how you graph a step function.

Given this waveform use the step function to find an equation:

http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/2545/stepfunction.jpg"

I calculated the step function to be:

x(t) = (t^2)[u(t)-u(t-2)]+2(t-4)[u(t-2)-u(t-4)] , which I'm pretty positive is right.

Now graphing in Matlab is my biggest problem. I've looked over my textbook at sample graphing techniques, this is what I have attempted.

Code:
>> x = inline('(t^2)(u(t)-u(t-2))+2(t-4)(u(t-2)-u(t-4))', 't')

g =

Inline function:
     g(t) = (t^2)(u(t)-u(t-2))+2(t-4)(u(t-2)-u(t-4))

>> t = (-1:5);
>> plot(t,g(t));
[COLOR="Red"]? Error using ==> inlineeval at 15
Error in inline expression ==>
(t^2)(u(t)-u(t-2))+2(t-4)(u(t-2)-u(t-4))
 Error: Unbalanced or unexpected
 parenthesis or bracket.

Error in ==> inline.subsref at 27
    INLINE_OUT_ =
    inlineeval(INLINE_INPUTS_,
    INLINE_OBJ_.inputExpr,
    INLINE_OBJ_.expr);[/COLOR]

Any tips or suggestions would be helpful, thank you.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Matlab does not perform multiplication in general when one enters things such as a(b + c).

You need to specify the array product (.*) operator for multiplication, as you want the function evaluated for each value in the vector t, and do not wish to do matrix multiplication using the entire t vector.

There is no function u provided with MatLab. You may create one with the following code.

Code:
u = @(x)(x>=0);

MisterX said:
Matlab does not perform multiplication in general when one enters things such as a(b + c).