Need to Purchase a Universal Testing Machine

In summary: The first is to make sure you are getting a machine that will meet your specific needs. There are a lot of options on the market, but not all machines are created equal. Make sure you are buying a machine that is rated for the type of testing you will be doing, and has the capabilities to do the tests you require. Next, be sure to shop around and compare prices. There are a lot of great machines available at a variety of prices. Don't be afraid to ask for a discount on the machine if you are in the market for one. Finally, be sure to have a good understanding of the machine before you start using it. Read the manual
banfillb
Hey all,

I have been put in charge of developing my company's research and development "lab" and I am currently looking for some testing equipment to buy. My background is in civil engineering, however I did do a small amount of material testing in school, and I'm familiar with the concepts. One of the crucial pieces of equipment that I feel we would need is a universal testing machine. The only issue, is that I know basically NOTHING about universal testing machines or the different brands.

The company I work for is a commercial curtain wall design and manufacturing facility. The idea of the research and development id to test the materials we currently use (aluminum, steel, PVC, silicone, EPDM) and compare them to other materials we are investigating and compare their strengths etc.

My question is, what type/brand of universal testing machine would be best? Is there a tried and true machine for basic material testing that is industry trusted/standard? For lack of better terms, basically the AK47 of universal testing machines. Not the best, not the worst, reliable, adaptable, etc. Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org