1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Network admin vs Programming what pays better

1. Jul 1, 2013 #1
    So im currently a computer engineer student, with multiple IT certifications (A+, N+, S+, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, CCNA) i will finish my degree this December and im trying to make a decision, im currently working as a software engineer for a small company where the top ill make after i graduate is probably 70k-80k.... Now my question is, on the long run, what career path will pay more? network admin (it related field) or programmer? Im a better IT person than im a programmer, but im not a bad programmer, also i enjoy being a network admin (done it before, part time) a bit more than a programmer but if the salary difference is to big of a difference this could change...

Im in Florida, US...

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 1, 2013 #2
    The better question is which do you enjoy more. Trust me, making more money but being miserable is not a good life. In general it's easier to outsource programming. A senior level network admin will often net $100k+.

4. Jul 1, 2013 #3

CompuChip

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

And what you actually need. If I make about 40k I have more than enough to live comfortably. I wouldn't want to sacrifice my free time or the fun bits of my job to make 20k more.

5. Jul 1, 2013 #4
    What are you willing to put up with to make that money?

Seriously, this is more about your willingness to travel, your willingness to work weird hours, your willingness to be on call, and yet have a viable social life...

There are trade-offs.