Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

New tesla sedan from 49k, thoughts?

1. May 12, 2009 #1
    # - 300 mile range
    # - 45 minute QuickCharge
    # - 0-60 mph in 5.6 seconds
    # - Seats 7 people
    # - More Cargo space than sedans
    # - 2X as efficient as hybrids
    # - 17 inch infotainment touchscreen

Frankly this looks amazing, sounds less damaging then combustion engines. However if electric cars become mainstream- we'd have an increased demand on electricty, which is still widely coal powered.

Also with fuel cells technology improving, would there still be a market for electric cars? I'm biased a tad, I'm an electrical engineering student and a sucker for head turning car bodies.

thoughts?
    http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/228/logo8167553.png [Broken]
    http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/5597/overview8167686.jpg [Broken]
    http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/7213/range8167692.jpg [Broken]
    http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/6899/utility8167697.jpg [Broken]
    http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/7166/performance8167702.jpg [Broken]
    http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/5994/technology8167715.jpg [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. May 12, 2009 #2
    Re: New tesla sedan from 49, thoughts?

Let the big three FAIL so these companies can take the market up.

4. May 12, 2009 #3

so far at another forum we found that despite having full torque at 0 rpm (the acceleration is insane), the top speed might not be there with internal combustion engines, .

5. May 12, 2009 #4

Yeah, because we all go 160+ MPH.

6. May 12, 2009 #5
    I think it would be interesting to calculate how much pollution you eliminate by going from a combustion engine to an electric car powered by coal power plants (or maybe there is something to this effect floating around now?).

7. May 12, 2009 #6