1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Normal force in a curvilnear motion

1. May 7, 2017 #1

EastWindBreaks

Gold Member

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    The system shown is initially at rest when the bent bar starts to rotate about the vertical axis AB with constant angular acceleration a 0 = 3 rad/ s2 . The coefficient of static friction between the collar of mass m = 2 kg and the bent bar is f.Ls = 0.35, and the collar is initially d = 70 em from the spin axis AB.

1)Assuming the motion starts at t= 0, determine the time at which the collar starts to slip relative to the bent bar.
    QQ截图20170506220030.png

2. Relevant equations
    Scan0002.jpg

3. The attempt at a solution
    Hello everyone! I am studying for my final, and this problem is from the text book.
    here is my thought process when I tried to solve this problem:

rotating frame is an non-inertial reference frame, so i have to use centrifugal force instead of centripetal force. The only force that is going to make the mass to slip is the centrifugal force pointing in the direction of r, since the mass is a collar which it can only slip in the r direction.

Below is my attempt on this problem, its solved but i still have some questions. Initially, I thought the normal force in this case is just mg, i fixed it after checking with the solution, however, i still dont understand why force in theta direction would affect the normal force, to my knowledge, normal force is the sum of the forces in the vertical direction, but the force in the theta direction is perpendicular to the z axis, i am so confused.

Scan0001.jpg
    another version of solution I found online :

[let angular velocity at any time be w
    so w = 3 * t rad / sec