Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Numerical sign problem software?

1. Dec 18, 2015 #1
    I'm an applied mathematician with lots of experience in classical physics but none in quantum physics.
    What's the simplest piece of code (eg C++ on Cygwin) that illustrates the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Numerical_sign_problem
    in quantum physics?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 22, 2015 #2
    Have posted question on 3 forums but no replies. Perhaps I'm asking the wrong question. To simplify answer just choose a,b,c,... From this list.
    A. There is no such code because you can't get a probability from complex numbers.
    B. Ask the author of a journal paper because it's a very advanced topic.
    C. Use a full blown lattice qcd package.
    D. Can't run on PC because it's too slow.
    E. Not in c++. (I'll accept any language).
    F. Write from scratch using ideas from "lattice qcd for novices" or similar.
    G. The question is ambiguous.

4. Dec 23, 2015 #3

A. Neumaier

Science Advisor
    2016 Award

Feynman path integrals (over ##e^{iS/\hbar}##) in quantum mechanics (and even more in QFT) are so highly oscillatory that they can hardly be evaluated numerically. The remedy is to work in the Euclidean formulation where (due to the time integration in the action ##S##) the constant ##i/\hbar## responsible for the wild oscillations becomes a harmless negative real constant, and analytically continue the results back to real time. In particular, this is used in all of lattice gauge theory, which is feasible numerically only in its Euclidean version.

5. Dec 23, 2015 #4

atyy

Science Advisor

6. Dec 24, 2015 #5

A. Neumaier

Science Advisor
    2016 Award